Humans of the Wheatbelt - Keith Beattie

I live in Caljie on a small farm with my partner Jo. We have two pet sheep, two pet dogs and chickens. We have lived there for about eight years. Prior to that I lived in York for five years. I am originally from South London and still have the accent unfortunately - I listen to myself and say 'really do I sound like that'.

Every now and again I head back to London as I still have parents and two daughters living there. I have four children and three grandchildren. One of my daughters Rachel lives on O'Brians farm in Northam. My son lives in Perth and is at university studying chemistry. He is 22-years-old. Jo, my partner, has a grandson and another one on the way.

All the kids have met once - they are all pretty busy but they keep in touch via social media. We have a big blended family.

I met my partner Jo via an online dating app. Jo moved to York and I taught her to drive.

I have always loved the country - the happiest moments of my life have been running trucks in Russia and not seeing anyone for weeks on end in Siberia. I have been as far as the Road of Bones in Northern Siberian that is parallel with Vladivostok. I used to run heavy haulage.

I'm a welder and fabricator by trade and finished my apprenticeship in Africa at off-shore rigs. Being in Congo as an 19-year-old was an adventure. I remember taking an old German airplane - you could still see where the Swastika sticker had been painted over.

A fair bit of my driving career was in war zones including Middle East and Yugoslavia. I didn't have a uniform but I had an operation British T-shirt and Union Jack underpants that protected me! The work dried up at the end of communism because little nations took on transport and undercut the western drivers. I then went back onto the tools.

I worked for a company cleaning air heaters in power stations for 10 years. I worked from Scotland to Hong Kong. We had to also wash down contaminated items - but the money was good so it was worth the risk. I worked with Western Milling for four years the mines for another five years.

I think if I had my time again I would have chosen a non-manual career. I grew up when everyone was on strike in London - I just needed to get a job. I was lucky to get an apprenticeship. You didn't ask why. You just do it.

I now have my own business doing fire breaks across York, Northam and Beverly. I have just done a big job for the national trust in Beverly on their Avon Decent Country Park.

I am so happy in the Wheatbelt I want to be here until I am taken out in a box. I enjoy the community attitude - people are friendly and laid back and everyone is up for a chat.

We really enjoy the Avon Decent and York Agricultural Show.

I love 1970-80's music. Jo took me to see Adel and I totally loved it. I also enjoy reading history books - particularly political history. The range at the Northam Book Shed is fabulous.

The best moment of my life would be meeting Jo. I love her to pieces.

The worst moment was getting divorced - it was a total surprise.

My advice would be listen to the old people - they have been there. In society I believe that my parents accepted, my generation started to question and the younger generation just want.

Human - Keith Beattie

Interviewer and photographer - Anna Cornish